Rows of networking equipment in a data center, the metered infrastructure an AWS engineer is hired to operate and constrain
Photo by Taylor Vick on Unsplash
Back to the blog

Tech stack · 2026

AWS Engineers in 2026: The Title Names a Vendor, and the Work That Is Funded Is the Work That Constrains It

Standout Editorial Team13 min read ·

An AWS engineer builds and operates systems on Amazon Web Services, which held 28% of worldwide cloud infrastructure spending in Q2 2026, down about two points year over year while AWS revenue grew 37%. The title names a supplier, not a skill, and in 2026 the funded work is cost and security: constraining that supplier.

AWS engineers in 2026, by the numbers

AWS lost roughly two points of market share last year and grew revenue 37% in the same quarter. Both numbers are correct, they are measuring different things, and most writing about this stack in 2026 uses one of them as evidence for the other. The rows below that carry the article are the first two and the last one. Everything else is context.

Metric2026 figureSource
AWS share of cloud infrastructure spend, Q2 202628%, down ~2 pts YoYSynergy Research Group, via industry statistics roundup
Azure / Google Cloud, same quarter20% / 15%Synergy Research Group
AWS revenue, Q2 2026$42.23B, up 37% YoYCompany reporting
Consecutive quarters of accelerating growth8, from a ~13% trough in 2023Company reporting
Total quarterly cloud infrastructure spend$129B, up 35% YoYSynergy Research Group
US AWS engineer national average$133,000-$136,000Salary aggregation guide
US median, second aggregator$137,552 ($117,000-$165,897)Skills-assessment vendor
Cost to hire, mid-level / senior$135K-$165K / $195K-$270KStaffing guide
Solutions Architect Associate in postings45,000+ of 100,000+ analysedCertification demand analysis, Jan 2026
Fastest-growing certificationsML Specialty +45% YoY, Security +35%Certification demand analysis
Cloud security named as a skills need36% of teams reporting any skills need, up 6 pts from 2024ISC2 Workforce Study, April 2026
Organizations fully resourced on security skills5%ISC2 Workforce Study
FinOps team size at $100M+ cloud spend8-10 practitioners plus 3-10 contractorsState of FinOps 2026, n=1,192

(Sources: Synergy Research Group via Statista, AWS statistics roundup, certification demand analysis, ISC2 Cybersecurity Workforce Study, State of FinOps 2026.) The salary rows come from publishers with an interest in the number: two salary aggregators and one staffing agency, each measuring a different population, which is why they disagree by roughly $30,000 at the top of the range.

The title names a supplier, and specifically a metered one

We built Standout to represent tech professionals in a market where job titles have quietly stopped describing jobs, and this one has drifted further than most. Backend engineer names a layer. ML engineer names a domain. DevOps engineer names a practice. Staff engineer names a rung on a ladder. AWS engineer names a company you buy from.

It is not alone in that. Salesforce developer, SAP consultant, Oracle DBA and Snowflake engineer all name suppliers too. What separates AWS from that family is the shape of what you are buying. A CRM seat or a database license is a fixed contract: the price is set at signature and daily engineering decisions do not move it. AWS is a meter. The bill is an output of choices made every week by the people whose title names the vendor, and that is the reason a cost-engineering discipline exists for cloud and has never existed for a per-seat license.

That distinction decides what the two headline numbers mean. A career titled after a vendor is indexed to that vendor's share, which is 28% and drifting down about two points a year. The vendor itself is run against its growth rate, which is 37% and has accelerated for eight consecutive quarters from a trough near 13% in 2023, its strongest rate since Q1 2022. AWS is not shrinking. It is growing more slowly than Azure and especially Google Cloud, in a market that grew 35% in the quarter, so its slice narrows while the plate gets bigger. (Source: AWS statistics roundup, citing Synergy Research Group.)

One caution about the share number, because the wrong version of it is circulating. A different research firm measured AWS at 33% for Q4 2024 on a whole-infrastructure basis, and setting that against today's 28% produces a tidy five-point collapse that does not exist. Those are two firms, two methodologies, six quarters apart. The honest comparison is one firm against itself, which gives about two points in a year, and that is the one used throughout this article.

An electricity meter, the pricing model that separates a cloud bill from a per-seat software license
Photo by Arthur Lambillotte on Unsplash

The credential is issued by the counterparty

The certifications with the most job postings behind them and the certifications growing fastest are two lists with no names in common. Solutions Architect Associate shows up in 45,000+ postings and Cloud Practitioner in 32,000+, out of an analysis of more than 100,000 listings. The growth sits somewhere else entirely: Machine Learning Specialty at +45% year over year, Security Specialty at +35%, Database Specialty at +28%.

AWS certificationAppearances in postingsYoY growth in demand
Solutions Architect Associate45,000+not stated
Cloud Practitioner32,000+not stated
Developer Associate28,000+not stated
Machine Learning Specialtynot stated+45%
Security Specialtynot stated+35%
Database Specialtynot stated+28%

(Source: certification demand analysis, January 2026.)

Those empty cells are real. The publisher ranks volume and it ranks growth, and it never sets the two rankings against each other, so there is no figure to write in. Placing the lists side by side is our arithmetic, not theirs, and the disjointness is the finding. Posting volume measures what recruiters filter on. Growth measures where the work went. The top two rows are the entry tier of a vendor's own credential ladder, which tells you the filter is set at the level of "has touched AWS," and the bottom three are specialties.

Then the part most of page one will not write, because most of page one sells certifications: the credential the market screens on is issued by the vendor whose bill the role increasingly exists to bring down. A certification is a supplier's assessment of your fluency in that supplier's catalogue. It is a genuine signal about product knowledge and it is structurally incapable of measuring what a 2026 cloud organization is short of, which is judgment about spending less with the issuer.

We are not going to convert the certification premium into a number you can plan around. Salary-guide publishers put it at 25-27% over non-certified peers, and another at $10,000-$25,000, but neither links the underlying survey and part of the cited series predates 2026. Treat both as marketing. On the matching side, the two fields do measurably different work: a certification list is what narrows a search to a set, and a named production number is the line a founder reads inside the intro itself. Profiles carrying both get their replies on the second one.

Two public accounts, opposite decisions, and neither turned on the skills list

37signals removed the vendor. After seeing a $3.2 million annual cloud bill, the company moved Basecamp and HEY off AWS, ran the compute repatriation on roughly $700,000 of Dell servers, and cut about $2 million a year. The storage phase moved 18 petabytes off S3, where the bill alone ran about $1.5 million a year, onto roughly $1.5 million of Pure Storage hardware costing under $200,000 a year to operate. AWS waived roughly $250,000 in egress fees on the way out, and the company projects landing well under $1 million annually. (Source: The Register, May 2025.) Those figures are reported differently across outlets and do not add into one clean total, so they stay as separate lines here.

The number that matters is none of the dollar figures. A ten-person infrastructure team executed the entire repatriation without adding staff. The people who deleted the vendor were the same people who had been operating it.

The other account runs the opposite way. On 20 October 2025, at approximately 3:11 AM ET, a race condition in DynamoDB's internal DNS management took down the dynamodb.us-east-1 endpoint: two DNS Enactor processes ran concurrently, and a stale plan check allowed an old plan to overwrite a newer one. Fourteen AWS services were affected, DynamoDB was out roughly three hours, the EC2 cascade ran past twelve, and the incident lasted about fourteen to fifteen hours.

Multi-region deployments failed anyway, for three reasons the published analysis states plainly: the global control plane including IAM, Route53 and CloudFormation has critical infrastructure in US-EAST-1; many multi-region applications kept their primary data stores in US-EAST-1 only; and applications could not reach configuration and secrets held in US-EAST-1 services. (Source: published analysis of the October 2025 US-EAST-1 outage.) Those teams had bought an architecture without the property they assumed it conferred. This is not an argument that AWS is unreliable, and 37signals is not an argument that anyone should leave.

What connects the two is that the deciding work in both sat in the relationship with the vendor, and in neither case was it the service list. The baseline every posting asks for is EC2, S3, VPC, IAM and Lambda, plus Terraform, Python and one container orchestrator. Neither story turned on any of it.

The line in the postingWhat it turned out to mean in the two public accountsThe résumé line that clears it
"EC2, S3, VPC, IAM, Lambda"The floor check. Neither public account turned on it.Nothing. Assume it is assumed.
"Cost optimization / FinOps exposure"18 petabytes off S3, a $1.5M/year line brought under $200,000 to operateThe line item you moved, and what it cost to move it
"Multi-region / high availability"Multi-region deployments failing anyway, because the control plane and the primary data stores both sat in one regionThe dependency you found that your region diagram did not show
"Infrastructure as code / Terraform"Ten people running a full repatriation with no added headcountThe ratio of estate to operators you held, and what made it hold
"Incident response / on-call"A stale plan check letting an old DNS plan overwrite a newer one, fourteen services, a twelve-hour cascadeThe failure mode you eliminated, named

The demand that is growing is the demand with no job title on it

Cost engineering is the clearest growth area in cloud and it is barely hiring as a job title. Organizations managing more than $100 million in cloud spend run FinOps teams averaging 8 to 10 practitioners plus 3 to 10 contractors, and they scale through federation with embedded champions, AI productivity and automation in place of headcount. The scope widened at the same time: 90% of respondents now manage SaaS spend or plan to, up from 65% in 2025. (Source: State of FinOps 2026, n=1,192 respondents representing $83B+ in annual cloud spend.)

Security is the same shape measured with a different instrument, and its numbers are moving. Among professionals whose security teams reported at least one skills need, 36% named cloud computing security, second only to AI at 41%, and that 36% is up six points from 2024. Just 34% of cybersecurity professionals claim significant knowledge of it. The mechanism sits a few rows down the same survey: 21% say IT often introduces new technology without the expertise to secure it. (Source: ISC2 Cybersecurity Workforce Study.)

Set two more rows of that survey against each other and the shape sharpens. 34% agree their organization has the right number of people in cybersecurity roles, with another 44% reporting only a slight shortage of people. Just 5% believe they are fully resourced on the skills needed. The study publishes those as separate findings and never puts them together; doing so is our arithmetic. A third of these organizations think they are staffed correctly. One in twenty thinks it is skilled correctly. (Source: ISC2, aligning skills, people and hiring.)

Put that beside the FinOps finding and the conclusion is uncomfortable for anyone reading job boards. Neither discipline is hiring a department. Both are being pushed into engineering requisitions that still say AWS engineer on the tin. It is also why nobody can size the shift: no public dataset breaks US AWS postings into AI infrastructure, cost and security, so the movement is visible in the funding and invisible in the titles.

This is the pattern we see most often in infrastructure matches. When we ask a candidate what they actually did last quarter, the answer is frequently cost work or reliability work, while the requisition they get matched against still carries a generic cloud title. We route on the described work and not on the title, because the title has stopped tracking. The market also is not uniformly hot in either direction: employment for software developers aged 22 to 25 has fallen roughly 20% since 2024 even as demand concentrates into specialized infrastructure roles.

A dimly lit server hall, where the October 2025 US-EAST-1 dependencies that broke multi-region deployments actually lived
Photo by İsmail Enes Ayhan on Unsplash

What to do about it, depending on who you are

You have the certification and no production number. Go get one number before you touch your résumé. A p95 you moved, a monthly line item you cut, a concurrency ceiling you raised, a failure mode you removed. One real figure outperforms a full badge row, and the specialty tracks are where the growth is if you want a second credential. This is the group Standout's matching is built for.

You are already doing cost or reliability work and your title says something else. Stop optimizing the title and start writing down the work. The gap between what you do and what your requisition says is why recruiters skip you, and it is the easiest thing on this list to fix this week.

You are a hiring manager writing the requisition. Name the constraint, not the catalogue. A staffing guide puts US cost at $135K-$165K mid-level and $195K-$270K senior and reports searches closing in four to seven weeks once the stack is named specifically; take that timing as one vendor's claim about its own service. If your main criterion is rate, nearshore is a real option and we will not compete with it: one hiring playbook prices senior developers in Mexico, Brazil and Argentina at $54,000 to $80,000, against a US senior range it states as $126,557 to $128,400. We are US-only, seed through Series D, and a company optimizing primarily on hourly cost should not talk to us.

You want the AI-infrastructure branch and have not worked in it. Get the reps inside your current company first. We match people into work they have demonstrably done, so a candidate who wants to switch branches with no production artifact in the new one is someone we would represent badly. Our placement-fee model also serves contract and fractional work worst of anyone reading this, so if that is the goal, this is the wrong desk. Come back with one shipped thing.

For the roles where work and title do line up, infrastructure and DevOps roles are among the most active categories we run, and companies hiring through Standout see candidates described by what they operate.

FAQ

Is AWS still worth specializing in for 2026?

Yes, and the reason is the growth rate and not the market share. AWS revenue grew 37% year over year in Q2 2026 with eight consecutive quarters of acceleration from a trough near 13% in 2023, even as its share slipped about two points to 28%. It is growing more slowly than its competitors inside a market growing faster than all of them.

Which AWS certification is most in demand in 2026?

Two different questions with two different answers. By posting volume, Solutions Architect Associate leads with 45,000+ appearances. By growth, Machine Learning Specialty is up 45% year over year and Security Specialty 35%. The first gets you through filters. The second tracks where the work is moving.

What do AWS engineers earn in the US in 2026?

Salary aggregators put the national average at $133,000-$136,000 and a median at $137,552 with a range of $117,000-$165,897. A staffing guide quotes cost-to-hire at $135K-$165K for mid-level and $195K-$270K for senior. Those are different populations measured different ways, which is why they disagree.

Do AWS certifications actually raise your salary?

Publishers claim 25-27% over non-certified peers and a $10,000-$25,000 premium. Neither links the underlying survey and part of the cited series predates 2026, so treat both as marketing from businesses that sell certification prep.

Is cloud cost optimization a real career path?

It is real and it is mostly not a job title. Even above $100 million in cloud spend, FinOps teams stay at 8 to 10 practitioners and scale by embedding champions in engineering teams. The work grows faster than the headcount, which means it arrives in your requisition and not in a new department.

---

Getting matched on what you operate, not on the badge. Standout represents tech professionals across US companies from seed to Series D. Candidates do not apply. We match, and if you say yes, we introduce you directly to the founder. Free for candidates, first matches within hours. Start at standout.work.

Field notes

Read more from the Standout blog.

Back to all articles